Baby Car Seat Laws California
California car seat laws no child is permitted to ride in any vehicle without the proper safety seat in any california town or city.
Baby car seat laws california. Installing the car seat in the back seat is dangerous for. Children must remain in a rear facing car seat until they weigh 40 pounds or more or are at least 40 inches tall. Children below the age 8 who are 4 9 or taller may be secured by a car seat belt in the rear seat.
Effective january 1 2017 children under age 2 and under 40 lbs. Car seat laws in california children under age 8 and under 57 must be properly secured in a child restraint system. The law is for children to be in the rear seat in a rear facing car seat because that is safest for the child or any occupant really in the event of a crash.
They may either be. Children who are 8 years of age or have reached 4 9 in. The back seat is fully occupied by younger children.
Children between the ages of two and eight. There are no exceptions that allow for a baby to not be in a rear facing car seat but there are a few exceptions that would allow for a baby to be in the front of the car instead of the back. Children younger than two years old.
California s law states that any child under the age of two needs to be in the back seat of the car properly restrained in a rear facing car seat. Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds or is 40 or. These children must ride in a rear facing car seat but they may be secured in.
Children 8 years and over should be appropriately secured by a safety belt. Or under 40 must be. Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.